The purpose of a Business Certificate is to make known the ownership and location of a business for public information and is regulated by Massachusetts General Law Chapter 110 §5. Business Certificates are valid for four (4) years.
A Statement of Discontinuance/Business Change Form must be submitted to the Town Clerk’s office if the business address changes, the business name changes, the business owner/partnership changes, and/or the business closes. A change in location requires a Statement of Discontinuance and a new Business Certificate Application to be submitted to the Town Clerk.
Submit the Application to the Town Clerk’s Office or online, then:
Receive information regarding Personal Property Tax obligations from the Assessor’s Department via email following submission (by signing the application, the applicant acknowledges receipt and understanding of this information);
Receive and complete any applications for required Planning Board approvals (if applicable);
Receive and complete any required Health Department permits (if applicable).
Fees for obtaining a Business Certificate:
Business Certificate Application: $30
Planning Board review: $20 (additional fees for Special Permit or Site Plan Review)
Non-Residents doing Business in Massachusetts: $25
Current Business Certificate List
Below is a list of all business certificates for new business and renewals, beginning in January 2023. If you would like to request more information regarding current business certificates, please submit a public records request.