Historical Commission

The East Longmeadow Historical Commission is a seven member board that works to preserve, promote and develop the town’s historical assets for present and future use. The commission oversees the operations of the Historical Museum House and the Library’s History Room.

Mission Statement

The purpose of the Historical Commission is to acquire, organize, preserve and maintain material assets of interest that pertain to the history of East Longmeadow, to make these assets accessible to the public and promote historical awareness within the community.

To research, record and recommend places of historical value and interest; advise and assist on historical preservation issues; and seek to change or create legislation to better protect our historical resources.

  1. Members
  2. Meetings

The Historical Commission consists of seven members, appointed by the Town Manager, serving three-year terms.

NamePositionTerm End
Tom BehanChair2026
Bruce MooreVice Chair2024
Andrea DriscollSecretary2025
Ken HancockTreasurer2025
John MakaraCPC* Rep2024
George Kingston
Simon Brighenti

*Community Preservation Committee

Acknowledged Friends of the Commission: Sherry McKeon, Kathy Sheehan, Scott Moore, Peter Bradley